Welcome to the LTLF Forest Forum.

Thread: Defensive Back Up

Default Defensive Back Up

I've been needing this rant for a few months now. No doubt this has been documented plenty of times but I feel it is worthy it's own thread.

I believe the one positive outcome of this seasons injury crisis, is that we have really seen how good our squad players are.

At Bournemouth on Saturday, following Lascelles substitution we has a back four consisting of solely back up players and I am astounded at the lack of interest and effort the majority players put in.

Halford is is the one who stands out an absolute mile. Post QPR game, I hoped to never see him where the shirt again. His awful touch which set QPR on the break for their fifth goal, followed by his huffing and puffing as he jogged behind the break seemed to answer a few questions as to why we have been on such an appalling run of form.

Saturday was no different. Uninterested body language, hopeless punts out for throw ins and failing to pick up his man causing Mackie and Lascelles having to cover him - it was like he had invented himself a new position; Centre Right Back. Everywhere the ball went, Halford would do whatever was required to hide and shy away from it. His goal shouldn't be used to blanket the fact he was once again appalling.

He's even petty with his behaviour, playing crap passes no one had a chance to get onto then moaning why they didn't get onto them. He even slapped and tripped up Pugh for no apparent reason shortly before their goal.